Menu

Newbie here with a couple of questions!

Home Forums OSSC OSSC – Discussion and support Newbie here with a couple of questions!

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  michaelsft 5 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

michaelsft
    Participant

HI all, glad to be a part of the community and received my OSSC today to accompany my rgbs modded NES and Atari2600 consoles. I am not particularly technically minded so I was hoping that someone may be able to help me a little with some questions as I’m a little confused.

I pressed the linemult mode button and chose number 5 and it worked so that means it’s outputting 1080p right? It nearly fills the screen and in general it looks lovely. I’ve found the menu settings slightly confusing – just left the LPF on Auto and it seems to do the best job as far as noise is concerned but there appears to be some noise coming through on backgrounds with a fixed colours – almost like diagonal lines that are faint in the background and I feel like they shouldn’t be there. I turned my HDMI input on my TV to game mode (no noticeable lag for me!) and turned off every other useless setting and overall I am really happy but I feel it could be tweaked a little – my confusion comes in the form of the other options which just seem to mess with the colour so I’ve left them as they were really. Are these the settings that can help eliminate the lines I’m seeing? If it because it’s a 4k TV outputting 1080p?

Now I expected the overscan when playing games, I did read about that but I wondered if the image could stretched or manipulated in some way to get rid of the boarders on the sides that obviously weren’t meant to be seen?

My other question is on the display is says 312p – shouldn’t it be 240p? The resolution thing also confuses me. Basically I am rubbish and I don’t know anything!

x5 Looking good! Ignore the blurry moving koopa troopa’s, they look fine normally!